Soil & Water Conservation Districts - Iowa Stormwater Education Partnership

Soil & Water Conservation Districts

SWCD Offices with Active Urban Programs

Soil and Water Conservation Districts are legal entities of state government responsible for soil and water conservation work within their service boundaries, typically counties.  Under Chapter 161A Code of Iowa, Districts promote protection, maintenance, improvement, and wise use of the soil and water within the district.  Of the 100 districts (Pottawattamie County is the only county in Iowa with two district offices, all others have one district office), approximately 10 of them are actively involved with urban stormwater programming and watershed management. Contact them directly for technical assistance and funding / cost-share availability questions.

Office Website Link Phone (all ext. 3)
Black Hawk (319) 296-3262
Buena Vista   (712) 732-3096
Dickinson (712) 336-3782
Dubuque (563) 876-3418
Johnson (319) 337-2322
Linn (319) 377-5960
Polk (515) 394-1883
Pottawatamie (712) 482-6408
Scott (563) 391-1403
Story   (515) 382-2217
For all other counties please contact your local SWCD office and request they contact the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship's Urban Conservationist Program for urban stormwater management technical assistance.


© 2019 Iowa Stormwater Education Partnership. All Rights Reserved.